Team

 

David Zhang co-founded Matrix Partners with the belief that being based in China is critical to successfully investing in young, entrepreneurial companies in the region. “International investors who visit China every now and then cannot have a local perspective, and they are too slow to react to the local opportunities,” he says.


In 2004, David noticed LCD screens popping up on office buildings near where he lived. He did some investigating and discovered the source of the screens: Focus Media. He reached out to the company’s founder, Jason Jiang, and after confirming that the company’s fundamentals were strong, David invested in the company. “Timing is very important,” says David. “If I didn’t see the product from the Chinese consumer’s perspective, I would have missed the opportunity to invest in such a great company.”


David studied in the United States, graduating with a masters degree in biotechnology and business from Northwestern University. After earning a bachelors degree in clinical science with a minor in chemistry from California State University, San Francisco, David spent three years working in the Department of Urology and Department of Neurology at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center at UCSF. While at UCSF, David conducted genetic and bioinformatic research with the goal of identifying genes for cancers and autoimmune diseases. There, he was able to hone his skills in biological research and computer programming.


After earning his M.S., David joined Salomon Smith Barney, where he was responsible for analyzing, structuring and marketing companies in the Internet, software and semiconductor sectors. David then moved onto ABN AMRO Capital, where he was a senior venture associate responsible for developing and executing acquisition strategies for life sciences, information technology, and Internet companies.


David joined WI Harper in 2001 as an associate in the San Francisco office and moved back to China in 2002, where he eventually became the managing director of the Beijing office for WI Harper. In that role, he oversaw the firm’s investments, portfolio management and operations in life sciences and technology in China. He invested in a number of leading companies, including Focus Media. He also invested in Celestry and DivX, both of which have had successful exits. While at WI Harper, David was also responsible for other investments including iKang, 3g.cn, Maxthon and Mapbar.


As a Founding Managing Partner of Matrix Partners China, he is responsible for operations, including investing in a number of leading companies, such as Bona Films (NASDAQ: BONA), 21ViaNet (NASDAQ: VNET), Edan Instruments (SZ: 300206), Cheetah (NYSE: CMCM), Career International, Umeng, Liebo, Momo, and others.

 

 

David Zhang
Founding Managing Partner
Beijing office
+86-10-6500-0088
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Assistant: Yvonne Xiao
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Current Board Seats/Investments
Focus Media (NASDAQ:FMCN)
21ViaNet (NASDAQ: VNET)
Wali (xiaomi)
Edan (SZ.300206)
Huakang Financial
iKang
3g.cn
Umeng
Liebo
Momo
Areas of Interest
Internet, wireless, healthcare
Experience
WI Harper Group, Managing Director and head of the firm’s Beijing office
ABN AMRO Capital, Senior Venture Associate
Salomon Smith Barney, Analyst
UCSF High Throughput Genotyping
Project for muscular sclerosis, Department of Neurology, Research Associate
Education
Northwestern University, M.S. in biotechnology and business
California State University, San Francisco, B.S. in biology
Honors/Memberships
Forbes China VC Midas List
World Economic Forum’s Young Global Leaders 2008

投资团队
 

成功的本土投资需要对本土的持续专注和不断积累,正是抱着这样的信念张颖同邵亦波共同创立了经纬中国。“国际投资者如果仅仅依靠不断出差到中国来寻找投资机会,是无法充分积累本地经验和本土洞见的,而且决策速度会有较大影响。”张颖评价道。

 

几年前,张颖注意到他的居所及其附近楼宇中安装了不少液晶显示屏。他随即做了一些调查和研究,并找到了这些显示屏的拥有者——分众传媒。在同分众传媒的创始人江南春进行接触并了解到公司的经营状况不错后,张颖迅速对这家公司做了投资。“时机对于投资来讲非常重要,”张颖说。“如果我没有从中国消费市场的迅速增长角度出发并注意到分众的产品,我很可能会错过对这家优秀公司的投资机会。”

 

张颖在美国接受教育,并拿到西北大学的生物科技和商学硕士学位。从加州州立大学获得临床科学学士学位并完成了化学辅修课程后,他在位于加州大学旧金山分校内的退伍军人事务医疗中心的泌尿及神经学研究所从事研究工作达3年,在此期间,他主要从事人类基因及生物信息研究,该研究旨在发现癌症及免疫疾病的基因治疗方法。这些医学研究经历让他积累了生物研究和电脑编程的技能和经验。

 

获得硕士学位后,张颖加入所罗门美邦,负责在互联网、软件和半导体行业内进行公司研究、结构重组和财务融资等方面的工作。之后张颖加入荷兰银行担任创投业务的高级投资经理,负责在生命科学、信息技术和互联网领域内制定和执行企业并购战略和其他业务。

 

2001年张颖加入美国中经合集团,担任其旧金山办公室的投资经理,并于2002年回到中国继续其在美国中经合的职业生涯。最终张颖成为了中经合北京办公室的董事总经理,在此任上,张颖全面负责中经合在中国地区的投资业务,并投资了包括分众传媒在内的众多行业领先公司。张颖还参与了中经合对于DivX和Celestry的投资,并通过成功退出赢得了可观回报。

 

在中经合期间,张颖负责的其他投资案例还包括爱康国宾、3G门户、傲游浏览器和图吧。

 

张颖目前是经纬中国的创始管理合伙人,他全面负责基金在中国的运营,并在一系列的新投资案例中发挥了主导作用,这些公司包括博纳影业 (NASDAQ: BONA) 、世纪互联 (NASDAQ: VNET)、猎豹网络 (NYSE:CMCM)理邦仪器(SZ.300206)、科锐国际、友盟、裂帛、陌陌等。

张颖
创始管理合伙人
北京办公室
+86-10-6500-0088
该E-mail地址已受到防止垃圾邮件机器人的保护,您必须启用浏览器的Java Script才能看到。
助理:Yvonne Xiao
该E-mail地址已受到防止垃圾邮件机器人的保护,您必须启用浏览器的Java Script才能看到。

董事席位/投资案例

猎豹移动
世纪互联
掌中酷柚
暴风影音
瓦力国际(小米)
裂帛
友盟
陌陌科技
Nice
最美应用
理邦仪器
关注领域
互联网、无线、健康医疗
职业生涯
美国中经合集团,董事总经理,中国区首席代表
荷兰银行创投业务部,高级投资经理
所罗门美邦,分析师
加州大学旧金山分校神经生物系,研究助理,负责高通量肌硬化基因分型项目
教育背景
美国西北大学,生物技术与商学硕士
加州州立大学,生物学学士
荣誉/社会资质
福布斯中国最佳风险投资人之一
2008年世界经济论坛全球青年领袖