About Us

Our Firm

History
Matrix Partners China is affiliated with Matrix Partners in the United States, a firm with an exceptionally strong track record of success and long history in the industry.

Matrix Partners began in Boston in 1977 as Hellman Ferri Investment Associates, one of the first firms on the east coast to have a startup technology focus. The firm was a founding investor in Apollo Computer, Stratus Computer and Continental Cable (now Comcast), and an early investor in Apple Computer.

In 1982, Paul Ferri re-established the firm as Matrix Partners and opened a Silicon Valley office. As one of few firms to maintain a bicoastal presence, Matrix Partners has enjoyed the privilege of seeing a high percentage of the leading ideas that have come out of the two primary hubs of American innovation.

In 2006, Matrix Partners launched its first India fund, led by General Partners Avnish Bajaj and Rishi Navani. Based in Mumbai, the fund invests growth capital across a range of consumer-oriented industries, including the Internet, education, financial services and retail.

Matrix Partners China was established in 2008. Led by General Partners Bo Shao, David Su and David Zhang, Matrix Partners China invests in a variety of sectors including clean tech, education, energy, financial services, healthcare, the Internet and software in china.

Philosophy
We are very selective in the investments we make. We make few new investments per year and have a very high quality bar. We seek to invest only in outstanding individuals and companies we believe have the potential to become industry leaders.

We aim to maintain life-long relationships with entrepreneurs. We aim to earn the trust of our entrepreneurs by working hard, being straightforward and supporting them throughout their careers. In our view, the most important measure of whether we have done a good job on your behalf is whether you choose to partner with us in your future ventures.

We are long-term in our orientation. We recognize that building companies takes time, especially in the current environment. It often takes more than seven years for a startup to reach a liquidity event. We are well capitalized and patient, and we have stood by some of our entrepreneurs for many years, long after other investors walked away.

Style
We are actively involved with all of our investments. We seek to develop close relationships with founders and management teams and we always take board seats.

We are collaborative in our approach. We do not get involved in the day-to-day details of operating your company. We go out of our way to listen and learn before we speak. We will not get in the way of you running your company. We understand that you do the heavy lifting and it is our job to help you.

We focus on the most important issues. There are a small number of opportunities and challenges that can make or break a company. We try to help entrepreneurs stay focused on those critical issues rather than get distracted by insignificant details.

We work hard. We define success not by the number of investments we make, but by making investments in companies that work. We truly care about the businesses in which we invest and are dedicated to helping entrepreneurs achieve their goals. Our average board load per partner is significantly less than many of our peers. This enables us to expend a great deal of time on behalf of our portfolio companies.

Track Record

There are two ways we measure our own performance: the financial returns we deliver to our investors and whether we earn repeat business from the founders we support.

We are very fortunate to have very strong relationships with the highest quality, long-term-oriented limited partners. Although we do not publicly disclose returns, a Freedom of Information Act request in 2003 led to the release of data for nearly 100 venture capital funds. According to the data, Matrix Partners delivered the top performing funds in terms of IRR.

We consider ourselves fortunate to count among our long-term partners entrepreneurs such as Hassan Ahmed (Sycamore, Sonus), Ashraf Dahod (NetCore, Starent), Desh Deshpande (Cascade, Sycamore), Jim Dolce (Arris, Redstone Communications, Verivue), Kingston Duffie (WhiteTree, Turnstone, Fanfare), Rubin Gruber (Videoserver, Sonus, Verivue), Mike Hluchyj (Sonus, Verivue), Chris Midgley (LiveVault, Unidesk), Frank Moss (Apollo Computer, Tivoli), Dominic Orr (Alteon, Aruba), Jit Saxena (Applix, Netezza) and David Skok (Watermark, Silverstream), now a General Partner at Matrix Partners US.

According to a recent Harvard Business School study, Matrix Partners maintains the highest rate of repeat entrepreneurs in the venture industry.

Matrix Partners China is committed continuing the same investment philosophy that has led to the success of Matrix Partners.

关于我们
历史

经纬创投因其杰出的投资业绩和悠久的历史在全球风险投资行业中享有盛誉,而经纬中国正是前者在中国设立的联合公司。

经纬创投于1977年在美国波士顿创立,当时名为Hellman Ferri 投资公司,这是在美国东海岸设立的专注于初创型高科技公司投资的最早一批风险投资公司之一。这家公司是Apollo Computer、Stratus Computer和Continental Cable(Comcast的前身)最早的投资人,同时公司也是苹果电脑早期的投资人之一。

1982年Paul Ferri将公司更名为经纬创投,并在西海岸开设了硅谷办公室。美国的东西海岸是美国国内最重要的技术创新发源地,而当时仅有很少的几家风险投资公司同时在东西海岸设立办公室。经纬创投正是凭借这样的优势,常常能在第一时间接触到各个行业内最前端的技术创新。

2006年,经纬创投筹集了首期印度基金,这笔基金由两位管理合伙人Avnish Bajaj 和Rishi Navani共同管理。该基金总部设在孟买,已经在一系列以消费者为导向的行业中完成了若干投资项目,其投资范畴涵盖了互联网、教育、金融服务和零售业等行业。

经纬中国则是在2008年创立的,由邵亦波、徐传陞和张颖三位管理合伙人共同管理。经纬中国在环保技术、教育、能源、金融服务、健康、互联网和软件行业等不同领域积极寻找投资机会。


理念

我们非常审慎地进行投资。我们每年只会选择数量不多的公司进行投资,因此这些投资必须是高质量和高水准的。我们只会对经过我们判断后认为将来有潜力成为行业领头羊的杰出个人和公司做出投资。

我们希望能够与创业者建立终生的友谊。赢得企业家对我们的信任是我们一贯的目标,为此我们将勤奋工作并坦诚相待,而且在创业者的整个职业生涯中持续不断地给予支持。在我们看来,衡量我们是否称职的最好指标,就是创业者在下一次创业的融资中是否仍与我们合作。

我们做好了立足长远的准备。我们深知创建公司是需要时间的,特别是在目前这样的市场环境中。从开始创业到顺利退出的整个过程,往往需要花费七年或更多的时间。我们资金充裕、充满耐心,愿意同创业者一起走一段长路,甚至会在其他投资者都选择离去之后仍然继续支持公司。


风格

我们积极地参与所投资公司的运营。我们致力于同公司创始人和管理团队建立密切的关系,并持有董事会席位。

我们在行动中深具合作性。我们不会干预公司的日常运作。在发言前,我们会仔细地聆听和学习。我们不会干扰管理层对公司的经营。我们深切明白,创业者承担着巨大压力,而我们的工作就是协助他们成功。

我们关注最重要的问题。往往是不多的一些机会或挑战,却会对公司的成败起到关键性作用。我们会帮助创业者专注于这些至关重要的问题上来,使得他们不会因为细枝末节而分散了注意力。

我们会非常努力地工作。 按照我们的理解,成功并不是以做出了多少个投资来衡量——成功仅意味着我们对公司做出了对他们有意义的投资。我们真诚地关心着我们所投资的公司,并竭尽全力帮助他们完成自己的目标。平均而言,我们每个合伙人所担任的董事会席位显著少于我们的许多同行,这意味着我们能够有更多的时间与精力去帮助每一个我们所投资的公司。


业绩

我们有两种衡量自己业绩的方式——第一,为我们的投资人带来了多少财务回报;第二,我们的投资对象将来再次创业时是否会考虑与我们继续合作。

非常幸运的是,我们能够与那些非常杰出且志向远大的合作伙伴保持坚实的合作关系。尽管我们从不刻意透露我们的投资回报,但事实上,2003年颁布的Freedom Of Information Act公布了近100家风险投资公司的投资数据。这些数据表明,从内部收益率的角度衡量,经纬创投是业界最优秀的公司之一。

我们十分荣幸能与众多优秀的企业家长期合作,他们是:Hassan Ahmed (Sycamore,Sonus),Ashraf Dahod (NetCore,Starent),Desh Deshpande (Cascade,Sycamore),Jim Dolce (Arris,Redstone Communications,Verivue),Kingston Duffie (WhiteTree,Turnstone,Fanfare),Rubin Gruber (Videoserver,Sonus,Verivue),Mike Hluchyj (Sonus,Verivue),Chris Midgley (LiveVault,Unidesk),Frank Moss (Apollo Computer,Tivoli),Dominic Orr (Alteon,Aruba),Jit Saxena (Applix,Netezza)以及目前经纬创投的合伙人之一David Skok (Watermark,Silverstream)。

哈佛商学院最近的一份研究报告表明,在同创业者持续合作方面,经纬创投始终保持着行业内的最高标准。

经纬中国将沿袭经纬创投的相同理念,将经纬创投的成功在中国延续下去。